Life Among the Terranauts

Named a Best Book of January 2021 by Entertainment Weekly and Apple Books

“In a series of vivid, immersive short stories, we meet characters living in ever-so-slightly fanciful realities and others navigating deeply human experiences that could be ripped from our own lives. Whether you enjoy sci-fi, realistic fiction or bite-sized escapes from the real world, you’ll find something to love here.” — Good Housekeeping, Best Books of 2021

“Vigorous and supremely crafted, Horrocks’s second collection explores human frailties, desires, and mechanisms for survival… Horrocks’s linguistic finesse and narrative range is impressive, and she brings incisive humor, pathos, and wit to her characters and their predicaments. The result is an immersive and engaging work that astutely captures the complexities of the human condition.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Whether you like sci-fi, surrealist fiction, or just need to get out of your own head, you’ll find something to love in this vivid story collection. You’ll meet a town that hibernates for the winter, six people who decide to live in a biodome for a cash reward, and others living through circumstances both wildly bizarre and not so dissimilar to our own.” Woman’s Day, Best Books of 2021

“Perfect for fans of George Saunders and Karen Russell…This dazzling collection of short stories will be pinging around the minds of readers long after the back cover is closed… Horrocks nails the short format by building easy-to-enter and hard-to-forget worlds… Each story is as engrossing as if it were a full-length novel, and just as sad to leave.” ―Courtney Eathorne, Booklist

On sale January 12 at Schuler Books  / Books & MortarBookshop.org / Barnes & Noble / Amazon / anywhere else you usually buy books